Truthwitch by Susan Dennard | Book Review | FF

First off, this post is my post for Femme Friday! Every Friday (or every one possible), I’ll be posting some type of connect that has to do with a female author or a female character. Vicky from Books And Strips actually came up with this idea and invited me and a few others bloggers to join her! So if you like the concept, you should go check out her post and hopefully join us in the fun! 🙂


21414439

Information

Title: Truthwitch
Author: Susan Dennard
Publisher: Tor Teen, January 2016
Genre: YA – High Fantasy
Page Count: 416
My Rating:
5/5 or 8/10
Where To Buy: 
Book Depository

 

 

My Synopsis
In Truthwitch, we follow Safiya fon Hasstrell and Iseult det Midenzi as our two main heroines. Safiya is a Truthwitch and is able to tell when people are telling the truth or lying. This is an extremely rare witchery that people are willing to kill for. Iseult is a Threadwitch who can see the physical threads of and between people. For example, she can see if two people are romantically connected, as well as see someone’s individual emotions. Being a Threadwitch, Iseult is unable to see her own threads and how she connects to other people. In this world, there are three different empires and a 20 year truce that’s about to break and wreak havoc upon the world. We also follow a ship captain, Prince Merik Nihar. A bloodwitch picks up their scent and a threat is slowly approaching.

My Thoughts
I LOVED THIS BOOK. We’ll start with that.

It starts off incredibly slow and not very interesting, if I’m being honest. I really thought I wasn’t going to like it. I was full of “Yikes. This isn’t living up to the hype. Oh no.” and silently judging people who were hyping it. And then I got to the good part. It took me about 60 pages to spark my interest and about 100 pages to where I didn’t want to put the book down. It is a slow start so push through that and it gets better. It picks up and the plot starts to develop and you’re finally wanting to read and you can’t put it down and everything is happening all at once and it’s just such an intense book.

The world building isn’t the best. It’s a little clunky in the beginning, you get a lot of terms and people and history thrown at you and it’s hard to sift through and make sense of but if you read on, that all kind of fades into the background. After reading the book, I can’t tell you why the truce came into being and why the empires are fading, I feel like my mind kind of glazed over that information so I need to reread those parts. After getting past that, the world was quite easy to visualize. I was a bit thrown off by there being dogs and cats. I don’t know why because they’ve always been around but they’re not huge in fantasy. Overall, the environment develops with the story and gets better as the story goes on.

THE WITCHERY. The witchery was my favourite part. There’s so many types of witches and not all witches can do the same thing, even if they’re underneath the same “type” of magic. I.E. Not all Waterwitches can do the same things. Some have different witchery than the others. I also feel like I didn’t get a good grasp on the different symbols for witchery but I’m terrible at picturing things so that’s probably just a me thing. I kind of wish we had a glossary of the different types of witches. I know I’ve heard this from a few different people so maybe Susan will consider putting out a guide to the witchery and types of witches.

The characters. I have so many feelings about the characters. Safi is one of our main protagonists. She starts off as very stubborn and gets herself and the people around her into bouts of trouble but she goes through fantastic character development and really grows as a person. Iseult is our second main character and my FAVOURITE. I feel like a big chunk of this could be dependent upon her witchery because I was so fascinated by it. Iseult is so doubtful and and she’s kind of trying to pave her own path. I think she goes on a darker toned journey and her story is still unraveling so I’m excited to learn more about that. Next, is Merik. He’s a ship captain and I’ve never been a fan of ship captain’s but Merik is the exception. He starts off as one of those characters you’re kinda eh on but he grows on you and it happens so quickly. I think there’s so much to him that we need to see but this book is a great introduction to him. And then, we have our bloodwitch. Aeduan. Now, he’s not mentioned enough in the first half of the story and I genuinely forgot he was a character when he popped back up. I’m still not sure how I feel about him.

The relationships! Now, I’m putting both platonic and romantic underneath this heading. First off, this book centers around Safi and Iseult who are the best of friends and if I’m being honest, I didn’t start to feel that until about the middle of the book but I did end up seeing them as super friendship kickass duo as the story progressed. THE ROMANCE OH MY GOD. There’s a slow-burn romance between two characters and it’s so beautiful and spunky and it made my heart twirl. I’m not a huge shipper and I was literally screaming when these two interacted. The romance is definitely not the main focus of this book but I do think there is enough of it for those who love reading romance to be happy with. I’m so excited to see how they progress in the next book.

Overall, it’s a first book but it’s a strong first book. It does take a little bit to get into but as soon as you do, it pulls you in and you don’t want to put it down. I would definitely recommend picking this up and I’m totally going to be continuing on with the series.


If you’ve read Truthwitch and want to know all about my feelings on the spoilery bits, click here to go to my discussion.
Let me know if you guys are considering reading Truthwitch!

5 thoughts on “Truthwitch by Susan Dennard | Book Review | FF

  1. I’ve recently brought this bookend I am dying to get to it! I have another book first on my TBR list that I’m also really excited about but as soon as I’ve finished that one I’m moving onto this one! I can’t wait and I’m really hoping I can keep up a good reading pace and finish it this month, it sounds so amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

